Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Commission's website is scheduled for routine maintenance beginning Thursday, February 22, 2024 at 5:00pm through Friday, February 23, 2024 at 12:00am. eFile and ePay services may be impacted during that time. If issues remain after the scheduled maintenance period, please contact SCWCC IT. Thank you for your patience. 

Advisory Notice - IT Legacy Modernization System Updates (eFile, ePay, eView, etc.) are NOW available to stakeholders. Click here to find out more. 
To access the eFile / ePay submission tutorial, please click here

Fines and Penalties

In order to ensure and verify that the rights of the injured worker and the employer are properly addressed, the South Carolina Workers' Compensation Act requires that certain forms/documentation be filed with the Commission. When such forms/documentation is not filed in accordance with the Act, the Act stipulates that a fine or fines be assessed (R67-1401). If an injured worker or the employer (or the representative of the injured worker or employer) believes that a fine has been improperly assessed, they may appeal the assessment to the Commission by emailing such appeal to one of the addresses below, provided such appeal is made within 30 days of notice of the fine.

When filing an appeal, please indicate the WCC# and the related Form number (or document type; ex: "denial letter") in the subject line, if applicable. Please include a short narrative in the body of the email describing the nature of the appeal and the reasons the appellant believes the fine should be rescinded. Attach a copy of the fine letter received and any supporting documentation the appellant wishes to provide.

The Commission is generally able to render a decision concerning a fine appeal within five (5) business days.

Fine amounts effective April 1, 2009.

Violation Fine Amount Appeal To
Medical Rating per R67-804C(2) $200
Form 16, Agreement for Permanent Disability/Disfigurement Compensation $200
Form 17, Receipt of Compensation  $200
Form 18, Periodic Report   $200
Form 19, Status Report and Compensation Receipt   $50
Form 20 per R67-1603D   $200
Form 51, Employer's Answer to Request for Hearing     $200
Form 15 Section I, Temporary Compensation Report $200
Form 15, Section II, Temporary Compensation Report $200
Form 15S, Supplemental Report of Varying Temporary Partial Payments  $200
Form 12A, First Report of Injury or Illness $200
Form 12M, Annual Minor Medical Report $200
Clincher $200
Denial Letter  $200
Failure to Reponse to Request  $200
Coverage Late Fines $200