Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Commission offices are open to the public. Any visitor wishing to meet with a Commission employee is requested to make an appointment by calling 803-737-5700 or emailing aneast@wcc.sc.gov.

Compensation Rates

2020 Maximum Weekly Compensation Rate

The South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce has certified the average weekly wage in South Carolina for the period July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019 was $866.67. For accidents occurring on or after January 1, 2020 the maximum weekly compensation rate shall be $866.67. This increases the maximum weekly compensation rate by $20.93 than the rate in 2019.

As provided in Title 42 of the SC Code of Laws, 1976 the maximum weekly compensation rate equals 66⅔% of an individual’s average weekly wage, not to exceed the average weekly wage in this State for the preceding fiscal year as determined by the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce. 

Compensations Rates Since 1979

1/1/20 $866.67
1/1/19 $845.74
1/1/18 $838.21
1/1/17 $806.92
1/1/16 $784.03
1/1/15 $766.05
1/1/14 $752.16
1/1/13 $743.72
1/1/12 $725.47
1/1/11 $704.92
1/1/10 $689.71
1/1/09 $681.36
1/1/08 $661.29
1/1/07 $645.94
1/1/06 $616.48
1/1/05 $592.56
1/1/04 $577.73
1/1/03 $563.55
1/1/02 $549.42
1/1/01 $532.77
1/1/00 $507.34
1/1/99 $483.47
1/1/98 $465.18 
1/1/97 $450.62
1/1/96 $437.79
1/1/95 $422.48
1/1/94 $410.26
1/1/93 $393.06
1/1/92 $379.82
1/1/91 $364.37
1/1/90 $350.19
1/1/89 $334.87
1/1/88 $319.20
1/1/87 $308.24
1/1/86 $294.95
1/1/85 $287.02
1/1/84 $268.99
1/1/83 $254.38
1/1/82 $235.00
1/1/81 $216.00
1/1/80 $197.00
1/1/79 $185.00

 

Mileage Rates to and from Doctor

Effective January 1, 2020 57.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2019 58 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2018 54.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2017 53.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2016 54 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2015 57.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2014 56 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2013 56.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 2012 55.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2012 50.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2011 50.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2010 50 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 2008 50.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 2006 44.5 cents per mile

Effective August 23, 2004

Commission policy was changed to
include mileage to and from the
pharmacy

34.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2001 34.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 2000 32.5 cents per mile
Effective April 1, 1999 31 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 1998 32.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 1997 31.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 1990 25.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 1986 21 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 1984  20.5 cents per mile